If I Ever

Growing up, I had a family who has always taught me to love. Back then, I thought it was the right thing for how can you go wrong with love? I remember fighting with my brother for constantly teasing me but they told me not to and instead, understand him. I remember getting mad at my grandmother for playing favorites but they told me I shouldn’t and instead, forgive her. I also remember hating my dad for almost leaving us and they told me its wrong but instead, love him.

Now, I am filled with love for other people but has so little for herself and I wonder, if I ever have kids will I raise them as I was raised? To this day, I’m still not a very good judge of right and wrong but with the little love I have for myself, I know, that if I ever have kids I will teach them to be brave and love themselves. If they have someone who constantly teases them, stand up for themselves. If they will ever come along someone who treats them any less than they deserve, know that it should not and will never define who they are as a person. And if ever someone dear to them decides to leave, know that one day they’ll look back and realize it is always for the better. If I ever have kids, I will teach them to be brave because learning to love yourself is not so easy. If I ever have kids, I will teach them the best way I can that loving yourself is the first step to loving others.

Got anything to say?

